philhawthorne

all messages by user

4/1/2015
Topic:
Protocol & Device Support Suggestions

Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Andrey Danchenko wrote:

Do you have any plans to support Sesame Smart lock?
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1425492550/sesame-your-key-reinvented

+1 for this. However I'm not sure how open Sesame are to other developers. They have an open source API as one of their stretch goals, but not sure this will be reached. They also don't really want to integrate with services like IFTTT or any smart hub really.
4/2/2015
Topic:
API

Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
I'm looking forward to getting on board the CastleOS, and losing my bank balance to the home automation addiction.

As a web developer, I work a lot with REST API's, which run over HTTP.

I would really like to be able to extend the features of CastleOS with a REST API if possible. I haven't downloaded CastleOS yet to play with, but ideally I'd like to know:

1. Can CastleOS call external HTTP API's, or be taught how to? I'll take a look at the scripting tools available, but I've never created something in C. Some ideas that could be used include the "fluffy" ones like "post a tweet" or read Facebook status. But with HTTP API's there's a lot that can be done.
2. Can CastleOS be manipulated by a HTTP API? For example. a local webserver calling CastleOS via HTTP to turn on lights or the TV?

The only slight mention I found was in a previous topic, but it hasn't had much activity: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic13-open-api.aspx
4/9/2015
Topic:
API

Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:

Hey Phil! CastleOS has a built in WCF and REST API. It's discoverable and annotated.

So is this available in CastleOS v1.2.1375? I can't see any mention of it inside the software, the how-to guides or a Google search (which this thread is the top result for). How does one discover these discoverable APIs?1.2.1375

Chris Cicchitelli wrote: