LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeCastleHUB

Information, FAQs, Q&As, and everything else related to the CastleHUB can be found here

Garage Door Opener, and Deleting devices & groups Messages in this topic - RSS

videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


12/13/2015
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
I bought a Linear GD-00Z4 Z-wave garage door device. This connects to your existing garage door opener, and uses a tilt sensor attached to the door to detect if it's open or closed. I was able to add it to the Castle network with no problems, but the HUB does not correctly detect the open or closed status of the door, and it does not actually operate the door, either. I also discovered that once a device or a group is created, I can't delete it! I hit the "delete" button in Edit Device or Edit Group, but nothing happens.

Any suggestions on solving these issues?
edited by videobear on 12/14/2015
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


12/16/2015
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
First, the easy one: the delete is working just fine, except it's immediately being recreated from the link table on your Z-Stick smile Once you remove the link, you can delete the device for good.

Regarding the garage door, it's likely because it's not setting up the Security profile, that's coming in an update in a few days as part of our Z-Wave Plus rollout. I do have a garage door adapter (from Aeon) here for testing.
0 link
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


12/16/2015
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
Thanks, but that's not a lot of help. How do I find and remove the link table on the Z-Stick? And I am not at all sure about the "Security profile" being the problem. The door opener information says nothing about a security profile, and the the basic operation is extremely simple. The Z-link device plugs right into the same terminals as the manual garage door push button switch. All it has to do is close a bloody contact, not go through some security routine.
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


12/17/2015
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Just by chance, you don't happen to using the Liftmaster 3800 jackshaft-operator are you?
0 link
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


12/17/2015
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
Kevin Mathews wrote:
Just by chance, you don't happen to using the Liftmaster 3800 jackshaft-operator are you?


No. Sears chain drive opener, segmented door.
0 link
Christopher Gross
Christopher Gross
Posts: 46


12/17/2015
Hey,
If I'm correct the z stick table is actually on the z stick itself. I had a similar issue where the hub wasn't seeing a device correctly. I had to remove the stick ( after I powered down ) and follow the directions to remove the device from the stick from the sticks manufacture instructions. Then when the device proved removed or not connected to any network by the led on the device I put it back into the usb on the hub and powered back up. I checked device manager and verified the com port the hub saw the stick on and then under where you can enable zwave I corrected the comport and enabled it. Then clicked add device and hit the set button on the device to pair again. This time I got the motion sensor to work but... Still no temp or humitity reading. So yeah, try removing the device from the stick manually. Hope this helps some.
Chris gross
0 link
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


12/17/2015
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
Christopher Gross wrote:
Hey,
If I'm correct the z stick table is actually on the z stick itself. I had a similar issue where the hub wasn't seeing a device correctly. I had to remove the stick ( after I powered down ) and follow the directions to remove the device from the stick from the sticks manufacture instructions. Then when the device proved removed or not connected to any network by the led on the device I put it back into the usb on the hub and powered back up. I checked device manager and verified the com port the hub saw the stick on and then under where you can enable zwave I corrected the comport and enabled it. Then clicked add device and hit the set button on the device to pair again. This time I got the motion sensor to work but... Still no temp or humitity reading. So yeah, try removing the device from the stick manually. Hope this helps some.
Chris gross


Thanks, Chris, I'll try this. I must say, though, that I've tried adding Z-wave devices (including the garage door) to the HUB in two ways...one, by pairing the device first with the Z-stick, and the other, by pairing it with the HUB without doing anything with the Z-stick. In both cases, although the HUB sees the device, it won't control it. I will try un-pairing all the devices from both the HUB and the Z-stick and starting over from scratch.
0 link
Christopher Gross
Christopher Gross
Posts: 46


12/17/2015
Don't give up. It's a new product and they are still coding it so I know it can be frustrating at times. Don't let the machine win 😉
0 link
Ernest Gainey
Ernest Gainey
Posts: 19


12/23/2015
Ernest Gainey
Ernest Gainey
Posts: 19
Chris, any update on the Z-Wave Plus... I have a Linear GD-00Z-4 Z-wave garage door opener too.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


12/29/2015
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Ernest Gainey wrote:
Chris, any update on the Z-Wave Plus... I have a Linear GD-00Z-4 Z-wave garage door opener too.



That one should come in mid-late January. We have a garage controller here for integration testing... unfortunately it's gated by a couple of things but it's on the list for Jan dev/release...
0 link
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


2/3/2016
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
An update. The other day I tried deleting all the devices shown in the HUB's z-wave device list and this time the delete took. I didn't do anything new, perhaps an upgrade fixed it. I have not yet tried pairing the garage door opener to the HUB again.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


2/4/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
OK, thanks for the update. Sometime tomorrow we'll be publishing a major Z-Wave update. It will allow for full security networks, Z-Wave Plus networks, etc. We won't have every device supported at first, there are still some device profiles to program in, but it should be complete for the most part in the next 2-3 weeks.
0 link
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56


2/10/2016
videobear
videobear
Posts: 56
Further update: I spoke too soon. The other day I opened up CastleOS and the darn devices were back. I deleted them again, and at least for the last couple of days they've stayed deleted, but I bet they could come back again, like revenants. I guess I'll have to take the Z-Stick around and be sure it's un-paired with everything.
0 link