LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeGeneral Q&A

Have non-support related questions? Ask them here!

Home automation for Dummies? Messages in this topic - RSS

Black Forest
Black Forest

4/9/2017
Black Forest
Black Forest
I need a manual for absolute beginner, no clue what is going on!
I think I have read every post on the forum.
Maybe a not so brief description of how everything ties together regarding all the components of a system. How things actually work.
If there is such a document would someone please point me to it!!!!!
0 link
Tim Bateson
Tim Bateson

4/11/2017
Tim Bateson
Tim Bateson
Not that I could find and not many people will reach out to help.
Chris is a great resource but as you can imagine stretched really thin. I started in the 90s with x10 and did nothing sine. When I tried to get back into it I knew nothing. I have a honeywell wireless security system that I decided to leave all by itself. z wave door locks that talk to castleos via a gen 5 Aeotec stick that pugs into a USB port. Then trial and error. Then INSTEON lights witches that use RF and eletrical wire communication at the same time (as long as its he same phase) They talk to the Insteon hub that plugs into the castle hub via USB. Then I have Lightify LED lights that talk via RF to the ightify hub that talks to the castle hub via wifi.
A lot of headaches and sleepless nights trying to figure it out.
I hope this gives you an overview of just a little of the technologies. I am a novice believe me!
0 link
Cooper Proulx
Cooper Proulx

4/11/2017
Cooper Proulx
Cooper Proulx
I would also like a not-so-brief description of how everything ties together. Like how does the Mini and Stick PC's tie into the Kinnects and then how do you also get a speaker to tie along in there along with the Hub.
0 link
Tim Bateson
Tim Bateson

4/13/2017
Tim Bateson
Tim Bateson